Call us: 716 372 0200 | E-mail:

Olean Public Library Serving the community since 1871

Library Card

Getting a Card

The Olean Public Library is a member of the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System (CCLS). The library card you receive from us can be used at any CCLS member library.


Adults must complete a registration form and present identification with their current address.


Children ages 13-17 must complete a registration form and present identification with current address or have the signature of a parent or legal guardian who presents identification with current address.

Children ages 4-12 are eligible for their own library card. When applying, children must be accompanied by a parent or guardian with a valid Olean Public Library card or another acceptable form of identification. Children under the age of 4 are not eligible for their own library cards.

Non Residents

Non-residents of New York State are charged an annual fee of $10.00 to enjoy all the privileges offered by a library account. This fee is waived for non-residents who work or attend school in New York State.


  • Always bring your card to borrow materials.
  • Children must be present in the library in order for materials to be checked out on their card.
  • Your account will be suspended any time accumulated fines or fees reach $5.00. View fee schedule.
  • If your card is lost, stolen or misplaced, identification is required to replace it or to borrow materials. Replacement cards will be issued at the cost of $1.00.

The Library Director has discretion over all library policies and may modify them on a case by case basis.

For your protection, please notify the library immediately if your card is lost or stolen or your account is in any way compromised. You are responsible for all items checked out on your account.


Place a Hold

Search the CCLS catalog. Select the Place Hold button for the item you want and follow the screen prompts to place your hold.

Pick Up a Hold

You will receive an email or a telephone call from an Olean Public Library staff member informing you that the item you placed on reserve is available for pick-up.

Once we contact you, you have 3 days to pick-up the item before your reserve is cancelled and the item is placed back into circulation.

If you no longer want the item or are otherwise unable to collect it, please notifly the library so it can be made available for other patrons.

Cancel a Hold

To cancel a hold, go to My Account from the catalog or phone the Library at 716 372 0200.

Due Dates

At the time of check-out, you will receive a receipt listing items borrowed and the due date for each item.

The standard loan period is 3 weeks (21 days); some items have a shorter loan period. Please keep your receipt handy and note the due date for each item. You can check your account at any time through the online catalog by clicking My Account and logging on with your library account number and PIN.

Items must be renewed or returned on or before the due date to avoid suspension of borrowing privileges.

Member Libraries

38 member libraries are online sharing the CCLS catalog. You may borrow from and return items to any of these libraries as you would your home library.

In Cattaraugus County:
  1. Allegany Public Library

  2. Delevan-Yorkshire Public Library

  3. Ellicottville Memorial Library

  4. Blount Library, Inc., Franklinville, NY

  5. Gowanda Free Library

  6. King Memorial Library, Machias, NY

  7. Olean Public Library

  8. Randolph Free Library

  9. Seneca Nation-Allegany Branch, Salamanca, NY

View all CCLS libraries

Items borrowed from member libraries may be returned to any online library. Rules of the lending library apply to items borrowed at that library.

Change Your PIN

When you receive your CCLS card you will also receive a 4-digit PIN (Personal Identification Number); this PIN is automatically assigned to you by the computer. You may keep this number or, if you prefer, change it to a 4-digit number easier for you to remember through the online catalog.

Your PIN is a security feature to prevent unauthorized use of your account. Keep your PIN in a safe place. DO NOT WRITE YOUR PIN ON YOUR CARD OR STORE IT WITH YOUR CARD. Never tell your PIN to anyone. Remember, you are responsibe for all activity on your account.

Loan Periods & Item Limits

Material Loan Period Limit*
Non-Fiction (excluding New Non-Fiction) 21 days None
Pamphlets and Maps 7 days None
Circulating Reference Material (Civil Service, Encyclopedias, etc.) 21 days None
Magazines and Newspapers 7 days None
Fiction (excluding New Fiction) 21 days None
New Books 14 days None
Large Print Books 21 days None
Parent/Teacher Collection 21 days None
Juvenile Holiday Books (Seasonal) 7 days 4
Art Prints 21 days None
Compact Discs (Music) 7 days 6
Audio Books (CDs) 21 days 6
Digital Audio Books & E-Books Variable 5
Informational VHS Tapes & DVDs 21 days 6*
Movie VHS Tapes and DVDs 3 days 6*
Series DVDs 21 days 6*
Games 3 days 2
*Limited to a total of 6 DVDs per card.

The library reserves the right to limit quantities of high demand subjects.

Renewing Material

Items not on reserve may be renewed 2 times only—after which they must be returned to the shelf so that others may find and use them. Renew in person, by phone at 716 372 0200, or from the online catalog.

Interlibrary Loan items require special permission from the lending library to renew. Please submit your request to renew these items a few days prior to the due date. Items borrowed from any CCLS library are not considered interlibrary loan items.

Note the new due date for each item. Remember, you can renew materials twice before they must be returned to the library. Items that have reserves will not be renewed and must be returned to the library by the due date.

Returning Material

During regular library hours, return all items in book drops located inside the library and at the library entrance. All items except Art Prints may be returned in the outside book drop whenever the library is closed.

Items borrowed from any online member library may be returned to any other online member library.

Overdue Material

If items borrowed on your account become overdue the library will notify you with a First Notice sent two weeks past due date, followed, if necessary, by a Second Notice two weeks later. If you have provided your email address, notices will be sent free of charge via email. For each overdue notice sent via US Post your account will be charged 75¢.

If items are not returned, you will receive a bill for the replacement cost of the item plus a non-refundable $3.00 processing fee. Your account will be charged a $1 fee for each bill sent.

45 days after the original due date, your account will be referred to a collection agency. A non-refundable collection agency fee of $10.00 will be applied to your account and must be paid even if you subsequently return the overdue material.

Borrowing privileges will be suspended until overdue items are returned or paid for.

Lost or Damaged Material

Borrowers will be billed for lost or damaged materials at the replacement cost of the item plus a non-refundable $3.00 processing fee. For items not in print, an average price for that type of item will be charged.

Refunds for items lost and paid for, and later returned to the library, will be issued only upon the presentation of the original Olean Public Library receipt issued at time of payment.

Go to top of page